Posted by: estudiantedeund | July 14, 2012

Final Thoughts

I made it home safe and sound last weekend. Thankfully, getting through the airports all went very smoothly and I didn’t have any troubles. With each plane ride, there were more and more people that spoke English. It was a little hard to adjust to using common phrases such as “thank you” and “excuse me” in English because we had been saying them in Spanish for so long. It has been great to be home and see my family. The first thing I did when I came home was to eat some peanut butter and jelly sandwiches and drink a tall glass of milk. I had been missing these staple foods in my diet, haha. After living in another country, I have become more aware of many things I take for granted here at home. The experience has also allowed me to better understand the differences between how we live as Americans compared to how other people live. It is interesting to see how different cultures not only have their own customs, but they also have a way of thinking that is not always the same as ours. Sometimes it takes stepping out of our culture in order to look back and see things we didn’t even recognize as being part of our culture.

Overall, I was very pleased with my study abroad experience. I felt that the Institute for Study Abroad (IFSA) was a well-organized program and we were able to see and do a lot in our 6 weeks. There was a good combination of IFSA planned activities and things we did on our own. I would recommend this program to other students. I met so many great people through this program and it will be so fun to keep in contact with them.

If you, or anyone you know, is thinking about studying abroad in Argentina or possibly in other parts of South America, feel free to contact me if you have questions or want to know more about anything in particular about my experience. I will be happy to help as best I can. My email is kayla.yarusso@my.und.edu

Thanks for following my blog! It’s been fun to share my experience and hopefully help future students with some advice and fun stories. Chao!

Responses

  1. Welcome back! I’m glad to hear that you had a good experience, and I certainly enjoyed reading your blogs!


Leave a Reply

Categories

