Posted by: estudiantedeund | May 16, 2012

Hola Amigos! (Hello Friends)

My name is Kayla Yarusso and I will be studying abroad in Buenos Aires, Argentina for six weeks this summer. I will be a senior in the fall and am majoring in biology and Spanish. I have heard from many people that studying abroad is a rewarding and beneficial experience and I am very excited about the opportunity. I have always wanted to travel somewhere to practice my Spanish and this summer program, through IFSA Butler, seems like it will be a perfect fit for me.

Today, I received contact information for my host family. My host mom and sister both friended me on facebook this week and it has been fun to have some contact with them before I leave. I am excited to experience the new culture and, although I am kind of nervous about communicating with native speakers, I can’t wait to become much more fluent and confident in the language. I feel like I know the language well, but I know that what we learn in school is quite formal compared to the daily use of the language. I am hoping to improve my conversational Spanish and believe that living with a family will help me in this area.

Currently, I am in the process of deciding what I am going to bring with me and making sure that I have everything I need. I am looking forward to sharing my experience with all of you through this blog. I hope that this will be a good way for me to remember my trip, but also a useful resource for future students who would like to study abroad in Argentina.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

